What We Do

Advocacy Efforts

Advocacy is an important part of Preserve Arkansas’s mission.  As the only statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to saving Arkansas’s architectural and cultural heritage, Preserve Arkansas is often in the thick of the battle.  From saving historic buildings, structures, and sites to promoting preservation-friendly legislation at all levels of government, Preserve Arkansas works diligently to promote preservation efforts across the state.

Why is historic preservation important to Arkansas?

Gov. Asa Hutchinson holds Act 840 of 2021 with (left to right) Sen. Jonathan Dismang, Secretary of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Stacy Hurst, Preserve Arkansas Director Rachel Patton, AHPP Federal Programs and Tax Credits Manager Tom Marr, Quapaw Quarter Association Director Patricia Blick, AHPP Director Scott Kaufman, and Dept. of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Chief of Legislative Affairs Leslie Fisken.

Want to catch up on what we’ve been doing? Check out previous versions of our e-newsletter below!

First Q 2022: https://conta.cc/3r0EgYf
Second Q 2022: https://conta.cc/3boyPxd

First Q 2021https://conta.cc/3tAvf6Z
Second Q 2021: https://conta.cc/3zYUxzS
Third Q 2021
Fourth Q 2021https://conta.cc/3zetKzf

First Q 2020: https://conta.cc/2GRvzIe
Second Q 2020: https://conta.cc/3cISDGS
Third Q 2020: https://conta.cc/3iIjjdU
Fourth Q 2020: https://conta.cc/33vun9l


Current Issues

Deferred Maintenance in Arkansas’s National Parks

Due to inconsistent funding, the National Park Service has a maintenance backlog of $11.6 billion nationwide, putting some of our country’s most precious historic resources at risk. Arkansas is home to seven units of the National Park Service that preserve our country’s heritage and positively impact local and state economies. That is why it is so important to address the maintenance backlog, which is currently at almost $41 million in Arkansas alone.

Learn more about the maintenance backlog in Arkansas.

Learn more about the National Park Service Legacy Act (S. 751/H.R. 2584) and urge your members of Congress to take action.

Federal Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit

The Historic Tax Credit Enhancement Act of 2018 (S. 3058/H.R. 6081) was recently introduced to enhance the Federal Historic Tax Credit (HTC) and offset potential loss of value due to the credit now being taken over a 5-year period. The legislation eliminates the basis adjustment for HTC projects, providing a tax benefit to owners and attracting more capital from investors while bringing the HTC program in line with the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit.

Learn more about the Historic Tax Credit Enhancement Act of 2018.

Urge your members of Congress to support S. 3058/H.R. 6081.

Historic County Courthouses (increased funding for grant program)

Since 2012, Preserve Arkansas has worked to advocate for increased funding for historic county courthouses throughout the state through the dedicated funding source of the Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council.

Local Issues

Preserve Arkansas adds a statewide voice to local advocacy efforts throughout Arkansas. Here are a few of the local issues that we support (and you can, too!):

Perry Rock Island Railroad Depot, Perry

Old Ouachita River Bridge, Arkadelphia

William E. Woodruff House, Little Rock

Downtown Hot Springs

Properties on Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places List