What We Do

Tuesday, May 11, 3:30 pm

The “Women in Preservation” virtual speaker series features women from a variety of backgrounds to explore historic preservation in Arkansas, its importance and relevance in today’s world, and ways we can better recruit women and people of color to the field and encourage the preservation of sites associated with underrepresented communities.

Tamela Tenpenny-Lewis is co-founder and president of Preservation of African American Cemeteries, Inc. (PAAC). From 2012 to 2015, she served as the national president of the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society (AAHGS) and was also a charter member and first chapter president of the Arkansas Chapter of AAHGS. Tamela is the recipient of the AAHGS James Dent Walker Honorary Lifetime Membership Award, Association for Gravestone Studies Oakley Certificate of Merit, and the Award for Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy from Preserve Arkansas. She was featured in the AETN documentary Silent Storytellers, a documentary that explores the history, culture, and importance of preserving Arkansas’s cemeteries.

Currently, she serves on the boards of the Arkansas Humanities Council and Friends of the Arkansas State Archives. As a graduate of Arkansas State University, she serves as the Scholarship Chair for the ASU Strong Turner Alumni Association. Tamela is a 41-year member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. She resides in Little Rock, is the daughter of Samuel and Evelyn Tenpenny, wife of Judious Lewis, and proud parent of Student Doctor, Taylor Lewis.

Carla Hines Coleman is chair of the Black History Commission of Arkansas and a member of the Afro American Historical and Genealogical Society (AAHGS). She has over thirty years of experience as a historian and genealogist and has worked on cemetery and tombstone preservation since 2003. She has also studied book, paper, and photograph conservation and preservation under the guidance of retired Arkansas State Archives conservator Bob Devan.

Carla Hines Coleman and Tamela Tenpenny-Lewis

This event is free, but registration is required. Please register in advance.

Upcoming speakers include:

  • June 8th, 2021 – Dr. Ethel Goodstein-Murphree, Fayetteville
  • July 13th, 2021 – Dr. Ruth Hawkins and Paula Miles, Jonesboro

Watch Patricia Blick’s October 13th talk here.

Watch the November 10th talk with Lisa Skiles and Morganne Weaver here.

Watch the February 9th talk with Mandi Curtwright here.

Watch the March 16th talk with Cheryl L. Batts here.

Watch the April 11th talk with Dr. Ann Ballard Bryan here.

This project is supported by DEMX Architecture.