What We Do

2023 Arkansas Preservation Awards


On January 26, 2024, Preserve Arkansas hosted its annual Arkansas Preservation Awards dinner and program to honor individuals and organizations for projects focused on historic preservation, education, and advocacy throughout the state. Honorees and guests celebrated with a reception and banquet at the Robinson Center in Little Rock, followed by a program recognizing the Historic Washington Foundation as well as 10 outstanding preservation projects. Nate Coulter, Executive Director of the Central Arkansas Library System, served as emcee for the event. The 2023 Arkansas Preservation Awards were presented with generous support from the Division of Arkansas Heritage, Clements & Associates Architecture, John Milner Associates Preservation and MAHG Architecture, Hope Consulting and Williams & Dean Architecture and Interior Design, and additional sponsors.

Photos from the event are available here.

2023 Arkansas Preservation Award Recipients

Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement

Historic Washington Foundation


Named in honor of Preserve Arkansas’s founding president, the Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement recognizes significant achievements in historic preservation over a period of years. The award may be presented to individuals, organizations, businesses, or public agencies whose activities may be of local, statewide, or national importance. The 2023 Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement goes to the Historic Washington Foundation.

For sixty-five years, Historic Washington Foundation (formerly Pioneer Washington Restoration Foundation) has been a leader in organized preservation efforts in Arkansas. With its incorporation in 1958, it became the first historic preservation organization in the state. In addition, the Foundation has been directly involved in the preservation of more historic structures than any other preservation organization in Arkansas. Besides its direct preservation work, Historic Washington Foundation (HWF) was instrumental in having the Washington Historic District listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1972. The Foundation also worked to create Old Washington Historic State Park (now Historic Washington State Park), which opened in 1973 to partner with HWF in preserving and interpreting the town, a partnership that remains strong today. In 1975, Parker Westbrook, a native of nearby Nashville, Arkansas, and an ardent preservationist, was elected to the Foundation board. He remained actively involved, eventually serving as volunteer executive director, for more than thirty years. Now, in recognition of its ground-breaking work in historic preservation in Arkansas, it is fitting for the organization he served to receive the Parker Westbrook Award.

W. L. Cook Award for Excellence in Heritage Preservation Eureka Springs Community Center Foundation

For the Eureka Springs Community Center project

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation Martin Hall at Hendrix College, Conway

Owner: Hendrix College

Architect: WER Architects

Contractor: Nabholz Construction

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration – Award Willhaf House, Van Buren

Owner: University of Arkansas – Fort Smith

Architect: John Milner Associates Preservation / MAHG Architecture

Contractor: Crawford Construction Company

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration – Honorable Mention Crittenden County Bank and Trust Building, Marion

Owner: Fredrick Millar

Architect: None

Contractor: Fredrick Millar

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration – Honorable Mention Wingmead Cabin, Roe

Owner: Wingmead, Inc.

Architect: Revival Architecture, Inc.

Contractor: Historic Works, LLC

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education Ritter-McDonald Cabin, Springdale

Owner: City of Springdale – Shiloh Museum of Ozark History

Architect: Clements & Associates Architecture, Inc.

Contractor: River Ridge Builders

Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication “Cy Sutherland: Architect, Educator, Preservationist” by Andrea Cantrell

Published in Washington County Flashback, Spring 2023

Excellence in Personal Projects Wallace Stone, Hot Springs

For Judge Glover’s Hideout at Malvern

Outstanding Achievement in Adaptive Reuse Benton Federal Building, Benton

Owner: Jonathan and Devan Hope

Architect: Williams & Dean Architecture

Contractor: Titan General Contractors & Hope Consulting

Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation Angela and Bobby Mathews and Lynn Boyd, Little Rock

For the Chester Nests project, Little Rock

Thank you to our generous sponsors!

Silver Table Sponsors



Bronze Table Sponsors



Courtney Crouch, Jr. & Brenda Crouch and Courtney Crouch, III & Amber Crouch



Fred Millar


Carl H. Miller, Jr.


Jack Moyer and Elise Roenigk

Crescent Hotel and Spa






Dr. George Betts

David and Patricia Blick

Jim and Kathy Boyette

Lori Filbeck and Allen Hart

Drs. Suzzette Shaw and Moses Goldmon

Historic Cane Hill

Amber and Scott Jones

Jill Judy and Mark Brown

Kudzu Collective

Mitchell Williams

Justice and Mrs. David Newbern

Ross and Irina Toyne

Joseph and Amara Yancey


Beverage Sponsors