What We Do

Save the Date!

The 2019 Arkansas Preservation Awards will be held on
Friday, January 17, 2020
at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock.

More information to come soon!

Individual awards will recognize leading craftspeople, homeowners, volunteers, and professionals for their work. Themed awards will salute outstanding education and advocacy initiatives, community programs, and dedicated stewardship. Project awards will honor the restoration, rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse of buildings and sites and compatible design in historic areas. Past honorees include architects, carpenters, and community leaders; museums, advocacy organizations, and neighborhood groups; and restorations and rehabilitation of historic schools, office buildings, post offices, courthouses, and bridges.

List of 2018 Arkansas Preservation Award Recipients

Photos from 2018 Preservation Awards available here!

Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement

Award: Anthony Taylor and Bob Kempkes, Taylor/Kempkes Architects, Hot Springs                                                                                 

Excellence in Heritage Preservation

Award: Ginger Sandy
For “Cedar Grove/Mobley Historical Preservation” Facebook page

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation

Award: Des Arc Public Library (Historic First Presbyterian Church), Des Arc

Owner: Prairie County
Architect: Robert M. Schelle Architects

Award: Griffin Auto Company Building, El Dorado

Owner: El Dorado Festivals & Events
Architect: DLR Group
Contractor: Nabholz Construction

Award: ScholarMade Achievement Place, Ivy Hill Academy of Scholarship (Historic James Mitchell School), Little Rock

Owner: ScholarMade Achievement Place
Architect: Wittenberg, Delony & Davidson, Inc., Architects
Contractor: Clark Contractors, LLC

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration

Award: Brunson House, Historic Washington State Park

Owner: Arkansas Department of Parks & Tourism
Architect: WER Architects/Planners

Award: Methodist Manse, Cane Hill

Owner: Historic Cane Hill, Inc.
Architect: WER Architects/Planners
Contractor: Kinco Constructors

Award: Shiloh Meeting Hall, Springdale

Owner: Shiloh Museum of Ozark History, City of Springdale
Architect: Clements & Associates/Architecture, Inc.
Contractor: Cameron Construction

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education

Award: University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design, Department of Landscape Architecture                         
For the “Rising Above – Rohwer Reconstructed: Interpreting Place through Experience” website

Additional collaborators on the “Rohwer Reconstructed” project include the Arkansas State Archives, Arkansas State University, Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, UALR Center for Arkansas History and Culture, University of Arkansas Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies, and Special Collections at the University of Arkansas Library.

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy

Award: U.S. Congressman Bruce Westerman, Representing Arkansas’s 4th District, for his efforts to save the Federal Historic Tax Credit during tax reform

Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication

Award: University of Arkansas Press

For “It’s All Done Gone”: Arkansas Photographs from the Farm Security Administration Collection, 1935-1943
By Patsy G. Watkins

Excellence in Personal Projects

Commercial: Mary Ann Lee, Indigo Blue Coffeehouse, Pine Bluff

Residential: Greg Gallagher, 1919 Beech Street, Texarkana

Honorable Mention: Cecil and Denise Ennett, Kleinschmidt House, Little Rock

Sponsors of the 2018 Arkansas Preservation Awards


Tim and Amy Leach


Courtney C. Crouch, Jr. and Brenda Crouch

Friends of “Rising Above – Rohwer Reconstructed” website

Carl H. Miller, Jr.


Ted and Leslie Belden

Porter Briggs

Courtney C. Crouch, III and Amber Crouch

Hon. John C. Edwards

Rep. David Hillman

JAMESON Architects, PA

Timothy W. Maddox, AIA

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, PLLC

Justice and Mrs. David Newbern

Mark and Cheri Nichols

Soos Stained Glass

Stone’s Throw Brewing

Taylor/Kempkes Architects

WD&D Architects

Beverage Sponsor